ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 Rules & Formats

Want to see the cricket giants clash in a never-before-seen cricketing format? The T20 World Cup 2024 held in West Indies & USA throws a curve ball at the spectators with the new and unique two-stage setup of clashes before the main knockout rounds. 

This tournament includes a Super 8 classic to find the semi-final teams to discover the incredible potential of world-class cricket athletes. Be with us and find out the rules & format of this upcoming edition of the T20 World Cup in 2024.

Format of the 2024 T20 World Cup

The format of this new edition of the World Cup has gained huge applause as it allows all 20 teams from all over the world to showcase their supreme skills at the same level. 

The defending champs, England will be defending their crown against the best in this business. To spice up things even more, the format has been changed slightly to create more pressure, hype, and entertainment before the knockout stage. Here’s a breakdown for you.

Group Stage

Alright! For the group stage. Here’s what you need to know;

  • 20 Teams are divided into 4 groups (5 each)
  • Each team in its group will play with all other teams.
  • The 2 leading points teams will qualify for the Super 8
  • Other teams will be eliminated

Super 8 Stage (Here’s the twist)

  • First, 8 teams are divided into 2 groups of 4.
  • Each team will play with one another to gain the points.
  • The 2 table toppers will qualify for the knockouts.
  • The other 2 will be eliminated.


  • The four teams will play in two semi-finals.
  • The 2 winners will qualify for the finals.
  • The other 2 will be eliminated.

Rules of T20 WordCup 2024

Similar to the format, the rules are also unique for this tournament. ICC has also introduced the famous stop-clock rule of the game. 

As a result, West Indies & UAS are selected to host a memorable and highly entertaining cricket party that spectators from all over the globe will enjoy and remember. Here’s the rule breakdown;

1. Stop Clock:

To overcome the hassles of the slow overs, ICC has come up with an incredible solution. According to the slow clock rule, the bowling side must have to bowl the next over within 60 seconds of the previous overs. In case of overtime, the bowling unit will face warnings which will ultimately lead to penalties of 5 runs for the batting side.

2. DRS Overs Range:

In case of rain or other issues, the overs can be declined to a lower number. For the stage games, the batting side of the second session will only face 5 overs as minimum as possible. The results will be calculated according to the DRS rule.

For knockout games, this over limit is extended to 10 overs for the batting side in the second session. This shows the crucial aspect of the knockout stage of this game.

3. Reserve Days:

For the group & knockout stage games, there will be no reserve days in case of rain in this tournament. Moreover, there are receive days selected for semi-final and final games of this tournament played in the West Indies & the USA. So, there will be no chance of anything that can ruin your experience of this amazing game.

In Conclusion

The T20 World Cup 2024, which takes place in the West Indies & USA, has so much to provide for cricket lovers from around the world. Starting with the format, this tournament includes 20 teams divided into 4 groups of 5. 

The group stage leads to the qualification of super 8 which then again face each other in 2 groups of 4. The table toppers then clash in the knockouts. Moreover, talking about the rules, the reserve day is only available for the semi-final and final. The rules like stop clock and overtime have also been highlighted in this tournament. 

Hope you are ready to celebrate this divine festival of cricket, the World Cup of T20I.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *